Thursday, July 29, 2010

Bela Lugosi Returns this Halloween

BELA LUGOSI's TALES FROM THE GRAVE is lurking your way, coming soon from the fine folks at Monsterverse.

Please order the collectible first issue NOW by contacting your local or online comic book shop and giving them the Diamond Item # Code: AUG101080 along with the title.

Long time friend Terry Beatty and I have a prominent story in this massive 48 page debut issue. Our creepy contribution is different from the other eerie episodes, which feature Lugosi as the traditional sinister and sardonic horror host. Terry and I present Bela as the star of our tale, as if were a long lost film made in the 1940s, with vintage two-strip color, which was banned for being "too shocking" for its time.

It was a real kick for me getting to work with Terry and Bela. Composing villainous dialogue for Bela Lugosi is among the most fun I've ever had as a writer.

If you also love Bela Lugosi, and the great horror comic books in the tradition of EC and Warren, this anthology is for you!

Friday, July 23, 2010

The Most Influential Book I've Ever Read

Is there a particular book, which you discovered as a kid, that completely changed the course of your future? There have been several for me, but for the moment I'm focusing just on works of fiction.

The very first time I read Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley, it was a life-defining moment, changing me forever. I was already a fan of the movies with Boris Karloff, but at that early age, and in spite of the fact that Forrest J Ackerman's Famous Monsters of Filmland magazine had repeatedly mentioned their origin, I didn't yet fully comprehend that the films were based on a classic English novel. I must have been about nine years old when I excitedly saw the paperback book (pictured above) on my cousin's dresser and I probably literally gasped with astonishment.

My cousin kindly gave me that book, which I stared at during the entire long drive home, mesmerized by its enigmatic Karloffian cover. Obviously, before even opening the novel, I was hooked. I would read it many times during the years to come, each time finding rich new layers that I had never dreamed of before. The horrific epic tragedy always seemed fresh and new every single time I fell under its phantasmagoric spell.

Ultimately, I was passionately inspired to write my own graphic novel interpretation of Frankenstein many years later, hauntingly illustrated by Patrick Olliffe. Happily, our book hasn't been out of print since its original publication, and was recently published again in a Spanish language edition.

My and Patrick's Frankenstein remains my favorite book I've ever written.

I mentioned all this to my cousin recently and she didn't remember giving me that paperback, little suspecting what she started.

At any rate, I want to take a moment and say:

"Thank you, Charlotte. So very much."

And, yes, I still have that same paperback book.

(Click on the pictures for a larger image.)

Thursday, July 22, 2010


Very exciting news! My brand new graphic novel, The Seven Voyages of Sinbad, is now on sale!

I've been eagerly anticipating this ever since I completed the script last summer, and now that I see the finished book--it's absolutely gorgeous. I loved writing this story, featuring spectacular full-color painted art by Daniel Perez. This is one of my personal favorites.

It's available in hardcover library binding and paperback. Published by Stone Arch Books.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Forty-One Years Ago Today

Today is the 41st Anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon Landing, when humans walked on another astronomical world for the very first time in history.

For me, this represents the most significant achievement of our often-troubled species; an extraordinarily courageous journey toward a peaceful, scientific exploration of our universe. I've always felt that this is our ultimate destiny.

If we can put aside our petty differences, and manage to avoid destroying ourselves, the planet Mars, the giant moon Titan, and more than a billion other solar systems are continuing to beckon to us.

I hope we are wise enough to answer that call.

Monday, July 19, 2010

THE SPIDER & KI-GOR Interview at Broken Frontier

Jason Wilkins of Broken Frontier did a recent interview with me about THE SPIDER and KI-GOR THE JUNGLE LORD, which are a part of Moonstone's upcoming pulp hero revival. Interviews are usually a bit tense for me, but Jason made this one fun.

Here's the link:

Wednesday, July 14, 2010


Here is another awesome pencil drawing from artist
Tom Floyd for our upcoming illustrated prose story " War of the Beast-Men", starring Ki-Gor the Jungle Lord.

Tom and I are so excited about this new series--and it obviously shows in his artwork. We are writing and drawing a new Ki-Gor comic book series, too.

Lots more to come!

(Click on the picture for a larger image.)

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Pulp Cover of the Week

Spicy Adventure Stories
by H. L. Parkhearst

(Dylan also appears to have been a fan.)

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Gaslight Grimoire: Ten Books for the Summer

Italy's GQ magazine has placed Il Grimoro di Baker Street (the Italian edition of Gaslight Grimoire: Fantastic Tales of Sherlock Holmes) on their list as one of the Top Ten Books for the Summer.

Gaslight Grimoire has enjoyed quite a celebrated presence since its publication by Edge Books a couple years ago. The volume also made the list of the Canadian Prix Aurora Award for the Best Work in English in the speculative fiction genre. It was a grand experience being a part of this book, and I'm especially privileged to have my fiction placed in the same company as Barbara Hambly, Kim Newman, Barbara Roden, and so many other esteemed story-tellers whom I greatly admire.

My contributed mystery/adventure for the anthology is "Sherlock Holmes in the Lost World", sort of a sequel to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's classic science fiction novel. This was my eighth story featuring the Great Detective, and it's also my personal favorite of all those I have written.

I'm very happy to say that this particular tale has developed something of a life of its own, and is currently being expanded into novella length for a new Sherlock Holmes anthology, from another publisher, due out in early 2011. There also may be other plans for it, in other media, in the near future. I'll keep you posted.

Lastly, and most importantly, my special thanks to Charles Prepolec and Jeff Campbell for giving me the honor of inviting me to share in such grand company. It's been great fun.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Book Signing at the MEMO Fall Conference

It's still a ways off yet (not until October), but I was just invited to be a guest speaker--and do a signing of my children's books--at the MEMO Fall Conference.

MEMO is the Minnesota Media Educational Organization serving schools and information technology professionals, committed to professional growth of quality media and learning programs. It's a very auspicious event which I'm honored, and very excited, to be part of.

Looking forward to autumn!

Monday, July 5, 2010

The PHANTOM UNMASKED Issue # 2 Preview

I just saw the first batch of colored pages for my second, and concluding, issue of THE PHANTOM UNMASKED and I had to share this gorgeous double-splash page, illustrated by Hannibal King and colored by Andrew Dalhouse.

Amazing. These guys are making me look so good.

Coming soon from Moonstone.

(Click on the image for a larger view.)

Happy Birthday U.S.A.!

Special thanks and solemn gratitude to all our heroes...past, present, and future; especially those who gave all they could give to keep us safe.

Happy Anniversary to my dad, 85 years old, and my late, great mom--married on the 4th of July!

Friday, July 2, 2010

My, uh, Artwork

More years ago than I care to count, I actually started out as an artist. I worked very hard at my craft and took it very seriously. Finally, when I was about 19, I reached a rather crude professional level and began to get a few paying gigs.

Ultimately I came to realize that my passion was far greater than my talent. Also, I was just too slow. I would have starved had I continued to pursue a career as an artist.

So, luckily for me, I had a rare moment of good sense and switched to writing instead, which has been much more creatively satisfying and profitable.

These posted drawings are not prime examples of my ability, but they are currently all I have to show. Hopefully more will follow.

The small color pics seen below were 2x3 inch cards which I sketched for a charity auction at a con just a couple years ago. Obviously, I'm a couple decades out of practice, but my heart was in the right place.

So, here's a bit of a giggle for everyone...